About HPHS

The objectives of the HPHS are to disseminate and to increase knowledge about the normal and diseased liver and biliary tree, with special emphasis on Pathology, and to encourage the further development of hepatopathology as a subspecialty.


Committee members were solicited by the officers, and all the volunteers were assigned to a committee that they listed of interest to them. The committee members will be appointed for staggered terms of three years, and with official transition/ends of terms occurring at the time of the business meeting held at the USCAP Annual Meeting.

Executive Committee

President: Sanjay Kakar
Vice President: Cynthia Guy
Past President: Michael Torbenson
Secretary-Treasurer: Grace E. Kim

Membership Committee

This committee will report to the Secy/Treas, who is Dr. Grace E. Kim, through the Committee chair. The role of this committee will be to determine possible means of encouraging membership or consideration of membership benefits. The Chair will provide the annual membership update at the annual business meeting. Other duties of this committee can be entertained by the committee members, and brought to the Executive Committee for consideration. Term length 3 years.

Chair:  Hanlin Wang (3/2019 - 3/2022)
   ILKe Nalbantoglu (3/2016 - 3/2020)
   Richa Jain (12/2017 - 3/2021)
   Kiyoko Oshima (12/2017 - 3/2021)
   John Hart (3/2019 - 3/2022)

Education committee

This committee will assist the Executive Committee (Pres, VP, Sec/Trea, and past Pres) in the selection of the best abstract for the resident award. Each member of the committee as well as each member of the Executive committee will review the abstracts and independently vote on the best abstract. Any person with co-authorship or from the same institution as the authors of an abstract should not vote on that abstract. The Secy/Treas tallies the votes.

This committee may also serve as an advisory body on selection of topics and speakers for the annual symposium, but the Executive Committee will finalize the program, and the President will moderate (or appoint a moderator) and submit the program to the USCAP.

The Educational Committee members may have other suggestions for activities, and can bring these forward to the Executive Committee for consideration. Term length 3 years.

Chair: Daniela Allende (3/2018 - 3/2021)
   Nafis Shafizadeh (3/2016 - 3/2020)
   Eric Yee (6/2016 - 3/2020)
   Robert Goldin (12/2017 - 3/2021)
   Grace Guzman (12/2017 - 3/2021)
   Mojgan Hosseini (12/2017 - 3/2021)
   Bella Goyal (3/2018 - 3/2021)
   Vishal Chandan (3/2018 - 3/2021)
   Heather Stevenson-Lerner (3/2019 - 2/2022)

Newsletter/Publications Committee

This committee is primarily charged with the production of the newsletter, but may expand their role if desired, and with permission from the Executive Committee. The Chair of this committee will report their activities, and send the draft of the newsletter to the President.  Term length 3 years.

Chair: Stephen Ward (12/2017-3/2021)
Oscar W. Cummings (12/2017-3/2021)
Sadhna Dhingra (12/2017-3/2021)
Purva Gopal (12/2017-3/2021)

Website Committee

This committee is primarily charged with the update and management of the website. The Chair of this committee will report their activities to the Executive Committee. Term length 3 years.

Chair: Dora M. Lam-Himlin (12/2017-3/2021)
Rondell Graham (6/2016-3/2020)
Maryam Pezhouh (3/2019-3/2022)
Associate Member:
Adam Booth (3/2019-3/2022)

Past Presidents

Ian Wanless 2001-2003
Elizabeth Brunt 2003-2005
James Crawford 2005-2007
Linda Ferrell 2007-2008
Kay Washington 2008-2010
David Kleiner 2010-2012
Matthew Yeh 2012-2014
Isabel Fiel 2014-2016
Michael Torbenson 2016-2018

Past Secretary-Treasurers
Elizabeth Brunt
Stephen Geller

Bylaws and Standard Operating Procedures

Business Meetings